Spanish School ATABAL
Now it is in Guatemala.   カウンター th visitor from 13 May 1998 
Spanish school at the acient city Antigua Guattemala
( SemanaSantaPhotoContest )


Semana Santa (Holy Week) Photo Contest 1998


Here are the photos which were taken for the Semana Santa 1998.
Antiigua is famous for the Semana Santa.

Theme: 1998 Semana Santa Antigua
This photo was taken by Srta Junko
(We also made the alphombra)
Term of entry: From 2nd March to 17th April

(日本語) ※四旬節 (セマナサンタに先立つ行事) の写真も含む。
Qualification of entry: None
How to entry: Bring your photos to ATABAL
Terms of examine: From 19th April to 24th April 1998
How to examine: Vote by the visitors of ATABAL & internet
Price: 1st price-Films & album
Excellent price-Vino Chileno (Wine)
Special price-"Sunday Dinner" free coupon


ENTRY

No.1
相子1
No.2
相子2
No.3
相子3

No.4
相子4
No.5
チョンジー
No.6
純子

No.7
章子
No.8
渓1

No.9
渓2
No.10
あけみ1

No.11
あけみ2
No.12
たかはる

Introduction 1998 Semana Santa

 Semana Santa of the Antigua is very famous all over the world. It is not only beautiful, grave and pleasant, but the biggest event of Catholic in Antigua.

 Our teacher informed about Semana Santa 1998 as see below.

1 Mar (Sun) Procesión de Santa Catalina Boballa
6 Mar (Fri) Night Velación de Santa Ines
8 Mar (Sun) Daytime Procesión de Santa Ines
13 Mar (Fri) Velación de Jocotenango
15 Mar (Sun) Procesión de Jocotenango
20 Mar (Fri) Velación de Santa Ana
22 Mar (Sun) Procesión de Santa Ana
27 Mar (Fri) Velación de Santa Bartolo
29 Mar (Sun) Procesión de Santa Bartolo
1 Apr (Wed) Velación de Escuela de Cristo y San Felipe de Jesus
3 Apr (Fri) Procesión del silencio en la madrugada San Francisco
5 Apr (Sun) Procesión de la iglesia de la Merced
6 Apr (Mon) Velación de la iglesia de la Merced
7 Apr (Tue) Velación de la San Francisco
9 Apr (Thu) Procesión de la San Francisco y San Cristbal el bajo
10 Apr (Fri) Procesión de la madrugada iglesia de la Merced
10 Apr (Fri)2:00p.m. Escuela de cristo Acto Descendimiento de Jessus y Preocesión del Santo Entierro (Ropa negro)

(Notes)

Alfombras (Carpets): Streets are covered with colored sawdust, flower, flutes, eggs and so on. Because these works of art are very like a carpets, people call them "Alfombra". Though these beautiful works are destroyed by shuffling when the processions pass on, the next morning there are new one created by the Antiguano.

Andas (Catholic icon platforms): These are platforms on which there are statues of Christ, Maria and saints. There are small ones which are carried on by four person, and large ones for eighty person.

Procesión (Procession): 

Velación : In front of the altar there is a luxurious Alfonbra offered flutes and vegetables around it.

 
 

1a Av. Norte #6, Antigua Guatemala, GUATEMALA C.A.
TEL: (502)7832-1894 | (502)7832-0791
clatabal@gmail.com
Copyright © 1978 Spanish School ATABAL | Some Rights Reserved